How can you determine the quality of a diamond?

There are four types of diamond quality: carat, cut, transparency, and color. The weight, color, transparency, or shape of a diamond carat determines its quality. The brilliance of a cut is decisive in assessing its quality and its color, purity, and carat weight. If you are looking for buy engagement ring then you should consider some points for finding the perfect ring.


In this article, the famous Diamantine Cellini, the first diamond dealer for six generations, explains to you the different qualities of a diamond with the 4C method and to know the different quality criteria for a diamond-like K, J, IH, G, F, E, D or SI2, SI1, VS2, VS1, VVS2, VVS1, IF, FL.

The diamond sector and jewelry – jewelry, in general, is highly regulated with certificates and highly standardized with technical codes known only to professionals and enthusiasts, but very few to the general public.

You should know that each diamond must be sold with its certificate or where it could be called, more commonly the identity card of the diamond. There are several certificates, but they have the same goal, to know the quality of the diamond. The difference is that it is issued and examined by an independent gemological laboratory (GIA, HRD, IGI, AGS…).


The color of the diamond is different from what one might think, they are not talking about the color of a Black diamond, for example, but they will rather talk about its color. It is sector-specific, and it uses color scales to classify diamonds. The color scale ranges from D, a rare colorless stone, to Z, a light yellow, brown, or gray diamond. You should know that the color of a diamond has a significant impact on its value.


Diamonds with little or no inclusions are rare, which is why the price is high. There are various types of inclusions, and they can have the form:

  • Crystals

  • Clouds

  • Some scratches

  • Stain

  • Air bubbles

  • Clouds

  • Black inclusions

The purity of the Diamond engagement ring is evaluated with a 10x magnifying glass. Standards, respected internationally, have established the evaluation of the purity of a diamond must be done by the eye of an expert and categorizes the diamond as pure if it does not find any defect under a magnification x10.

From this examination, the expert can categorize the diamond via a clarity scale to classify the diamond its purity and the number of inclusions.

Here is a presentation of the different categories:

F – IF: No inclusions or very rare inclusions VVS1 – VVS2: small inclusions difficult to detect with a magnifying glass VS1 – VS2: Minor inclusions, invisible to the naked eye, but detectable with a magnifying glass. SI1 – SI2: Remarkable inclusions, but difficult to see without a magnifying glass I1 – I2 – I3: Inclusions visible to the naked eye.